top of page

6 Handlettering Tips

Hey, y'all! I wanted to take some time to give you all some tips for your hand letting. I have personally come pretty far in my journey with this. I first began hand-lettering when I began bullet journaling a while ago. Here are a few pictures that show my progression throughout the years:






Looking back on my first few monthly spreads, I can just say that they were rough 😂. I'm still not fantastic at it, but I wanted to give you some tips for improving your hand-lettering skills.


Here are a few: 1. Don't stiffen up your wrist or hand. I feel like this one is sort of a given, but it makes a big difference. If you loosen up your wrist and write more freely, you will notice a large difference in your lettering. Your writing will look much less rigid and will appear to flow more freely. Basically, don't bear down too hard. 😂 2. Feel free to do it in pencil first! Even if you aren't a beginner, this is a great thing to do. You can lightly write out the word you are doing in pencil then erase it until you are barely able to see it. Then you can go over it with your pen or marker. It won't show through the actual lettering and serves as a great guide.


3. Practice! Practice! Practice! I don't care how long you have been doing this, practice is always key.  Even though you might not notice an immediate improvement, there will be one over time.  4. Practice on one letter at a time. Printable practice sheets are your friend!!

5. Dual-sided brush pens are awesome! I definitely recommend the Tombow Dual Brush Pens! *not sponsored*. They are great for both beginners and professionals. Crayola Super Tips *not sponsored* are great as well and are a super cheap alternative.  6. Try out different styles. Try out as many hand lettering styles as you can find (that will actually be pretty hard considering everyone has their own lol). You don't have to stick to just one person's idea of hand-lettering. Try out multiple, and eventually, your style will come to you naturally 😊.  I hope that this helped you! Thank you for visiting my blog and God Bless!!

Recent Posts

See All

June Bullet Journal Flip-Through

Hey, y'all! I know that it has been a hot minute since I posted, (which is definitely a mix of procrastination, quarantine struggles, and...

Komentáře


bottom of page